2018 Visions: A Celebration of Nonprofit Leadership

The 8th annual Visions: A Celebration of Nonprofit Leadership event will be held on November 27, 2018 in Oklahoma City.

Six men and women will receive Visions awards on Nov. 27, 2018 in Oklahoma City for their service to the nonprofit sector. The Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits has announced the honorees for the annual event that recognizes tenacious and visionary leadership in nonprofit service, volunteerism and philanthropy.

This year, Kevin Evans of Woodward, James R. Tolbert, III, Dr. Kay Goebel, Anne Roberts, Beth Shortt and Stacy McDaniel (all from Oklahoma City) will be honored with awards at Visions: A Celebration of Nonprofit Leadership.

Marnie Taylor, president and chief executive officer of the Center for Nonprofits, called the men and women “Oklahoma’s finest,” and lauded their work in advocacy, service and leadership.

Read more…

For sponsorship and event information, please contact Mandy Fair at mfair@okcnp.org or (918) 392-7984.

2018 Visions Tickets

Fill out my online form.

Thank you to the generous sponsors of the 2018 Visions Event!

Visionary Sponsor 

Potts Family Foundation

Patron Sponsor 

Express Employment Professionals
David and Jean McLaughlin

Table Sponsor 

American Fidelity Foundation
Arnall Family Foundation
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma
Chesapeake Energy
The Chickasaw Nation
Cox Communications
E.L. and Thelma Gaylord Foundation
Kerr Foundation
Oklahoma City University Nonprofit Leadership Graduate Program
OKC Good
Woodward Community and Friends of Kevin Evans

Host Sponsor

Arvest Bank
Commerce Bank/Kelly and Andy Sachs
Nancy P. Ellis
Kirsten and David Griffin
HoganTaylor, LLP
LOKC- Leadership Oklahoma City
The Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation
Oklahoma Watch
Marnie and Clayton Taylor
Jim Tolbert

Friend Sponsor

Acorn Growth Companies
Daniel Billingsley
Dean McGee Eye Institute
Carl and Susan Edwards
Tracy Evans/Woodward Wellness Center
First National Bank of Oklahoma
Deena Fischer and Tom Lucas
Foundation Management/Communities Foundation of Oklahoma
Dave and Alice Hager
David and Lezlie Hudiburg
Leslie and Clifford Hudson
Ken and Mary Ann Fergeson
Inasmuch Foundation
Cathy and Frank Keating
Love’s Travel Stops & Country Stores
Mark and Patti Mellow
Polly and Larry Nichols
Oklahoma City Thunder
Bill and Lynne Schonacher
Jon Trudgeon
Williams, Box, Forshee & Bullard, P.C.

Visions Award Categories

The Pat Potts Visionary Award

Named in honor of the founder of the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits, this award will go to an individual executive leader who through focus, tenacity and leadership has inspired the success of a singular organization in carrying out its charitable mission.
Past honorees include Pam Newby (Special Care), Miki Farris (Infant Crisis Services), Albert Gray (The Children’s Center), Rodney Bivens (Regional Food Bank), Lauren Branch (NewView Oklahoma) and Danny Cavett (Cavett Kids Foundation).

The Rodney Bivens Innovation Award

This award will go to a visionary leader(s) or volunteer(s) in the charitable sector who has burst on the scene with a new, dynamic and innovative idea that inspired groundbreaking changes bringing newfound success to the mission of an organization or pioneering, exciting program that changes lives.

The honoree will receive a $10,000 award thanks to a generous contribution from the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation in honor of Rodney Bivens’ lifetime achievements with the Regional Food Bank.

Past honorees include Christy Counts (Central OK Humane Society), Bob Ross (Educare), Tim McLaughlin (Fields and Futures), Jennifer Abney (Angel Foster Family Network) and Desiree Doherty (The Parent Child Center in Tulsa). Finalists for the award include Mary Frates (Oklahoma Arts Institute), Dan Straughan (Homeless Alliance) and Toby Jenkins (Oklahomans for Equality).

Special Recognition Award

This award will go to a nonprofit employee that has exhibited excellence throughout the past year. It could be any nonprofit practitioner (e.g., executive director, program director, support staff, etc.) who has worked tirelessly to make a difference in the everyday work of a charitable organization. This employee has demonstrated a dedication to mission above and beyond his or her call to duty, changed lives of those they serve and shown leadership to peers. Sometimes working with limited resources in difficult circumstances, the recipient of the Special Recognition Award is a selfless and tireless employee that exemplifies service to community and constituents. Wherever possible, this is a person that isn’t regularly recognized for their service, so that we may honor those everyday heroes that make Oklahoma and our citizens thrive.

Past honorees include Pat McKinstry (Sunbeam Family Services), A. Jaye Johnson (Boys and Girls Club), Nina Daylor (United Way of Central Oklahoma), Sharon Gallagher (Tulsa Area United Way) and Shannon Luper (Girl Scouts of Eastern Oklahoma).

The Lifetime Achievement Award

This award will go to an individual (s) who dedicated a lifetime of philanthropy and volunteer leadership to charitable causes and has been instrumental in the success of one or more charitable organizations.

Past honorees include Ron Norick (former mayor, Oklahoma City), Lew Ward (Ward Petroleum, Enid), Ken Fergeson (NBC Bank, Altus), Wanda Swisher/Rita Moore (Community Volunteers, Oklahoma City), Larry Pulliam (Southern Oklahoma Memorial Foundation) and H.E. “Gene” Rainbolt (BancFirst).

The President’s Award

This award will go to an individual (s) as a special recognition of the President and CEO.

Past honorees include Dr. Robert L. Spinks (Oklahoma City University).

Contact Us

Urgent questions, please let us know! You can also call our Helpline at 1-800-338-1798.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt